September 21, 2018, 07:57:24 pm

Author Topic: Face Protection?  (Read 3795 times)

Offline Dragon2144

Face Protection?
« on: January 08, 2010, 02:03:10 am »
Ok I'm new to Airsoft and I want to keep all my teeth. I know I want goggles. I hate paint ball type masks. Cant aim down sights with it. But would a recon wrap like this.....

do the trick or should I get something like a Half or Full Neoprene Face Mask?
Also what kind of things do you use to protect your face?

BTW: yes I know someone has a tread like this but I want to know about the recon wraps and if I'll keep my teeth if I get one.

Offline Sev

• 仮想せき
Re: Face Protection?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2010, 02:16:21 am »
If you're under 18, to attend the overwhelming majority of events in IL, you must wear a paintball mask. No exceptions.

As far as teeth protection from BBs go, neither a neoprene mask nor the recon wrap are very high on the protective scale. The scale would go something like this (lowest to highest):
nothing -> recon wrap -> neoprene mask -> shemagh (wrapped correctly) -> huge gap of protective quality -> the "skull mask" - the "goggles with faceguard" -> Redtail's gas mask - paintball mask.
The Big Brain am winning again!
_________________________ _
Try this for your next sale/purchase!
Airsoft Auctions

Offline Dragon2144

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2010, 02:23:45 am »
Thank you I'm 18 probably going to go with the Hakkotsu Iron Face or do you have any suggestions? For half masks that can be warn with goggles but I'll keep my teeth.

Offline Sev

• 仮想せき
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2010, 02:45:37 am »
I've never worn one of those Iron Face before, but it's a better protector than most other retail products. Evike has some china clones of the TM fan goggles with faceguard. As far as frontal shot protection, they're pretty good since they flex rather than indent like cloth does, but the goggle fans are poorly designed in both China and TM versions.